03/24/03:  I went to Stone Country on the 14th, which was the last time I wrote in here. I sat down where Cara and I sit every time and didn’t see Chad when I walked in, so I was wondering if he was really going to come. He told me earlier he had some things to do and probably couldn’t come. But as I was sitting there, I saw him walking around to come find me because he knows where I always sit. So we danced a lot and kissed and Paul ended up being there, so that wasn’t good. Anyway, I don’t think anything else too exciting happened that night, so let’s move on. On the 17th, I started my new job at Schlotzsky’s Deli. The first day was tough because I was so confused and they tell you everything at once and it’s hard to remember it all. This is my second week working now, so I’m getting used to it and things aren’t so bad. On Friday, I worked from 5:00-8:00pm and then went to Stone with Samantha and Cara right after work. Oh yeah, I don’t think I’ve mentioned Ross yet! I call him by his last name because I don’t want him to be confused with my ex-boyfriend who has the same name. My friend Andrew who I go to school with introduced us and we started hanging out. We have been seeing movies/hanging out at each other’s houses and it’s a lot of fun. He is a really nice guy with a good sense of humor, but I’m not sure if I like him enough to date him. He met up with me at Stone Country last Friday and Chad was there, so I ended up dancing with both of them. I still like Chad even though Ross is showing more interest in me now. Chad is actually online right now but has had an away message up ever since I got off of work, so I didn’t get to talk to him yet. I was over at Ross’ house until 11:30 last night. We are getting closer and try to hang out whenever we can. It’s kind of hard because he works all the time, but we’ll see what happens.

Commentary: Thankfully, working at Schlotzsky’s Deli was my only experience in the fast food industry. The thing that sticks out most in my mind was working late and having to close. They had wooden tables and chairs that were very heavy and whoever closed had to move every single table and chair out of the way, sweep the entire floor, then mop it. My little toothpick arms could barely handle it. The best thing was being able to eat their food on my lunch break, I believe at a discounted price. I absolutely loved their soup, pizza, and Turkey Original sandwich. That was back when the food was good. Most of them have now gone out of business, but we do still have one around where I live. I tried to go there recently for the nostalgia, but unfortunately they’ve totally changed the way they make their sandwiches. I’m guessing to cut down on costs they had to have lower quality ingredients. I worked there before Panera was a thing, so once that opened just down the street, it was all over for the Schlotzsky’s I worked at and they ended up closing. 

