CF

01/28/02: I haven’t written in a long time, so here is an update.  Jordan and I are still going out and we love each other a lot.  In about two weeks it will be our one year anniversary, so I am very excited about that.  Lately Cara and I have been going to this place in Washington called Marci’s Pizza.  It’s a pretty fun place to hang out at, and I met this guy named Travis there who I have become friends with.  Today after school, Samantha came over and we went to visit Brent in the hospital.  He has cystic fibrosis and has lost a lot of weight.  I was really worried about him, but he seems to be getting better.  He’s been in the hospital for two weeks and had to have a feeding tube, but he gets to go home tomorrow.  While I was there, I saw some kid who has no immune system.  I felt really sad and wished there was something I could do to help.  Anyway, this guy I know named Brian is one of Paul’s friends and is in the Marines, so I don’t get to see him that often.  The last time he was in town was back in the summer, but last weekend him and Paul stopped by Marci’s, so it was cool seeing him again.  He asked me to go to dinner and a movie on Friday night, but just as friends.  Tonight he called and told me five jokes.  That was all he called to say, but it really did cheer me up.  Ahh, ya gotta love Brian!  I don’t know what else to tell you, and I really need to get going on my homework.

Commentary: I remember first meeting Brent at Shopko, which was where he worked at the time. He was dating one of my best friends and I was dating one of his best friends, so the four of us hung out a lot during this time. I didn’t have many close friends in high school, so when the four of us got together, it was the first time I felt like I was part of a group. I noticed right away that Brent seemed to cough a lot, and later he explained to me that he had a condition called cystic fibrosis. If only I knew then what I know now about CF, I would have done things a little differently. I was totally clueless about the seriousness of his condition. I still remember going to visit him in the hospital and feeling terrible for not only him, but for some of the other kids who never got to leave. There’s a YouTube channel I’ve been watching lately called “The Frey Life” where a very sweet couple post vlogs about what it’s like to have CF. Here’s the link if anyone is interested in checking them out:

https://www.youtube.com/user/thefreylife

 

