NEW YORK - SEPTEMBER 11, 2001: (FILE PHOTO) A fiery blasts rocks the south tower of the World Trade Center as the hijacked United Airlines Flight 175 from Boston crashes into the building September 11, 2001 in New York City. Almost two years after the September 11 attack on the World Trade Center, the New York Port Authority is releasing transcripts on August 28, 2003 of emergency calls made from inside the twin towers. (Photo by Spencer Platt/Getty Images)

(Photo by Spencer Platt/Getty Images)

09/11/01: Wow, I have a lot to tell you. First of all, I dumped Jordan awhile ago so that things would be good for Paul and I. Our relationship already had some bumps, and we broke up. Then two days later he wanted me back, so I just said, “Ok.” Most people think that Paul only wants me for one thing since I’m 16 and he’s almost 19. I was convinced that wasn’t true because he is such a nice guy, but a couple days ago I went over to his house and he really wanted to do it with me, but I said no. Now I don’t know what the hell to do. I’ve only been going out with him for about three weeks. I guess I will just make it very clear to him that I will never do that with him, and then see what happens. If it isn’t a big deal and he still wants to be with me, then that’s cool. But if he dumps me, then I’ll be very pissed that I wasted my time with him. I thought breaking up with Jordan would be the best thing to do, but now I’ve really started to realize how much I love him and want him back. Okay, enough about that…now for something much more important. Today at school, I walked into my first class and everyone was watching the news. A plane had crashed into the World Trade Center in New York. At first I just thought it was an accident, but then another plane crashed into the other tower. Then I started to realize that this had been a terrorist act. A plane also crashed into the Pentagon. Thousands of people died today, and it’s the biggest and most tragic thing that’s ever happened to the U.S. President Bush said that as soon as they find out who did this, we will fight back. I’m actually really scared. Many people think this will lead to World War III and that the war will last a long time. Oh, and it’s Cara’s 17th birthday, too! Gas prices have gone WAY up. It used to be $1.18, and now it’s $5.00. That’s crazy! I am gonna try to do some homework now, but I’ll write more later.

Commentary: I remember 9/11 like it was yesterday. I had just walked into my Resource Management class and noticed that the tiny TV attached to the ceiling had been turned on to display the news. The first plane had already hit the North tower of the World Trade Center, and everyone thought it was just a horrible accident. I’ll never forget the rhetorical question the kid sitting in front of me asked: “Wouldn’t it be crazy if another plane hit the other tower?”  We were absolutely horrified when it actually happened minutes later.  At that point, we started to realize that it was an intentional attack, but there was so much confusion – who did it, and why? The teachers seemed surprisingly calm, but I’m sure that was only because they were told to put on a brave face for the students’ sake. I was totally unaware of the magnitude of the situation, which I didn’t fully understand until years later. I can also still remember walking into my second hour class – U.S. History – and wondering if what had happened that morning would someday appear in my U.S. History textbook.

