new year's

01/01/01: Today is the first day of the New Year. Last night Cara and I went to this party on a boat out on the river. A radio station was broadcasting live from there. It kind of sucked because all of the people there were freaks, so we ended up leaving. We were desperate to find another party to go to but it was too late, so we ended up going to my house. We missed the countdown, and then I lost it. I was sooo pissed because this was something I had been looking forward to for a very long time and the whole night was ruined. The year 2000 has really been the worst year of my life! I’m glad it’s over, but I’m scared that 2001 will be worse. Oh well, I’m not going to worry about that now. When I look back on this year, I realize that I have been doing a lot of things in the wrong way. My New Year’s resolution is going to be to try and change all of my bad habits. For instance, I always wait until the last minute to get homework done, end up going to bed at 12:30 a.m., and am dead tired the next day at school. I also am going on a diet because this past year I have been either pigging out on junk food or just starving myself altogether. It may seem like things like that aren’t a big deal, but I’ve been doing a lot of other things the wrong way, and it all adds up in the end. So from now on, I’m going to start pulling myself together and live a better life. I just hope I can do this…

Commentary: I wish I would have realized that my life wasn’t that horrible. Just because I was a procrastinator, went to bed late, and ate junk food didn’t mean that I was a failure. I was extremely hard on myself and had a tendency to focus on the negative instead of the positive. I didn’t know it then, but these were some of the best years of my life. It’s a shame I didn’t enjoy them more. 

