deftones

(Photo from http://rockmerchuniverse.com)

12/12/00: Cara and I got ready and went to the mall to do some Christmas shopping. It was pretty fun, and we saw tons of people we knew. That was all I did today. Oh, I don’t know if I told you, but there is this really cool band I like. They are the Deftones. Sam kinda got me into them. Another band I’ve liked for quite awhile is called Incubus. They will forever be one of my favorites. If I ever open up this diary when I’m a lot older, I should go listen to some of their songs. I never want to stop listening to them or forget the impact they have made on my life. I have so much appreciation for music, it’s weird. My ultimate goal in life is to be the lead singer of a really cool and famous band. I would love to write songs that people can relate to and have a good feeling about when they hear the songs. But that will never happen, right? Nahh!

Commentary: I love this diary entry because it’s the first time I mention liking Deftones! They have been my favorite band for quite awhile. I don’t give my younger self many compliments, but I must say that it was pretty cool of me to like a band like Deftones at 15 years old. When I wrote this entry 15 years ago and looked into the future, I definitely didn’t foresee myself liking the same music when I was in my 30’s. I told my older self to go listen to Incubus and Deftones to remind myself what a huge impact they made on my life, but little did I know that wouldn’t be necessary because I never stopped listening to them! Incubus and Deftones went on tour together a few months ago and I was fortunate enough to see one of their shows. It was truly an unforgettable experience. I had seen Deftones numerous times before, but it was the first time I had seen Incubus in concert since 2002. Today’s photo is of a Deftones poster that I had hanging up in my bedroom for several years. Even though I wasn’t able to live out my dream of being the lead singer of a band, my goals of creating something that people can relate to and have a good feeling about have been achieved through this blog! 🙂

