snow day

(Photo from http://www.imgmob.net)

12/11/00: Today my alarm woke me up for school, but my mom ran into my room and said that school was canceled. Yay! It’s supposed to snow like a foot or something and be really windy. Anyway, last night I was just listening to my favorite radio station (99X), and they were having this thing called Modern Rock Live with the Red Hot Chili Peppers. It’s a radio station that’s broadcast all over the US, but is based in Los Angeles. Anthony and John were there (Chad and Flea couldn’t come) and people called in from all over to ask them questions. So basically, I could have called in and asked the people who are my idols (and mean the world to me) anything I wanted to! I was going crazy. I wanted to so badly, but I knew the line would be really busy, so I didn’t call in. I taped most of the conversation, though. Actually about half, because I didn’t know it was on until I finally went to change the CD I was listening to and the radio came on. Once I started listening to their music again and hearing them talk about their lives, I totally fell in love with them once again. This year has definitely been a year where I’ve gotten into so many different bands. I had stopped listening to the Chili Peppers because I’ve been so involved with all the new music out there. After last night, I realized that RHCP is my favorite band and will remain that way. Their music means so much to me. Anyway, enough about that. Today I got online and Sam’s older brother, Ted, was online. I wasn’t sure if I should say anything to him or not, but I did. I have talked to him a few times before, and he’s always been pretty nice. WOW! One of my favorite RHCP songs just came on! I was just talking about them. Back to my story, the very first time I spoke with Ted, he was the one who messaged me and said, “Hey, aren’t you the girl who is always talking to my brother?” And I was like, “Yep.” So today I was like, “How’s England?” and we ended up talking for a full hour and a half! His brother is pretty cool…kinda weird though! We talked about what types of music we like, and we just happen to like all the same things. I know it wasn’t Sam pretending to be his brother or anything because talking to Ted is definitely different than talking to Sam. First, Ted always types everything in CAPS and Sam doesn’t. Also, Sam absolutely hates rap and Ted likes it. I had a nice chat with Ted but it was getting late, so I said I had to go. At the last minute I said, “Tell your brother I said hi,” and he said he would. It’s weird because during our whole conversation I wasn’t sure if Ted remembered who I was or not, but in the end I guess he did. So then Ted said “Ta-ta deary”- that’s so sweet! I really like Sam and his brother, but of course Sam more, ya know. Also, Sam is an Aries and I’m a Gemini – that means we are a cosmic love match! I was really excited when I found that out. I know it’s true. It’s getting late and I’m going to spend the night at Cara’s house because tomorrow is another snow day!

Commentary: Darn, I thought my Red Hot Chili Peppers phase was over. I can’t believe I bought into all that astrology BS, but stuff like that was pretty popular at the time. I checked my horoscope as often as I checked my email. It’s interesting that this entry is about snow days, because this morning we got a lot of snow! It was actually the first snowfall of the season, and it really put me in a Christmas mood 🙂 Time to get out the decorations, pour myself some coffee, and listen to Christmas music!!

