Image (95)

09/04/00: Hello. Today is Labor Day, so I got to stay home from school. On Friday night, I performed at my first football game for color guard. It wasn’t a very good performance though, because the parents set our flags all wrong for this one routine. I had to “air it” until Mrs. Potts threw a flag to me, but it was okay because a lot of other people didn’t have a flag. Yesterday I went to church with Cara and we had a good time. Later, we went to youth group for a pool party and cookout. We had such a nice time, and I have a big crush on the leader of the group! His name is Mike and he’s 21 or 22 years old. I guess he’s too old for me, but I still like him. The youth group meets every Sunday, so I’m excited to go back next week. Here is the update on Sam. He got back from Reading Festival awhile ago, so we still talk and everything, but I think some of the spark that was there before has disappeared. I’m kinda depressed about that. He starts college in two weeks, because in England you start when you are 16 years old. We probably won’t be talking as much anymore.

09/08/00: Today I had kind of a hard day at school because I was sooo tired. I didn’t go to bed until 1:30 a.m. last night because the MTV Video Music Awards were on and I had to watch it. It was over at about 10:30, but I still had all my homework to do after that. Yuck. Yesterday Sam and I got in a little fight, so today we didn’t talk because he never got online. I sent him a little email to apologize, so hopefully everything will be okay. Well, that’s all for now! I gotta go to bed because I have to wake up early (6:30 a.m.) for the freakin’ Pekin parade. Ugggghhhh!

P.S. – Two people have asked me to homecoming! I’m not going though because I really don’t like either one!

Commentary: DVR didn’t exist back then, so when something was on TV that you wanted to watch, you had to either drop everything and watch it even if it meant staying up until 1:30 a.m. on a school night, or you had to go through the hassle of trying to tape it off TV. Yay for technology! At this point in my diary, it seems as though I had a crush on a different guy just about every week. My mom wouldn’t have been too thrilled to know that my new crush was someone who was 6-7 years older than I was. Today’s photo is one that I had posted previously, but decided to move it here. I had originally posted it with an entry where I wrote about my 15th birthday (June 20th), but I was able to find a pic of myself from that exact birthday, so I decided to post that photo instead. Feel free to go back and check it out! 

