fanclub

July 2000: Okay, I know I haven’t written in a long time, so I’m sorry about that. Sam and I have known each other for almost two months now. Every day our relationship gets better and better. He says he is going to call me soon so we will really have a chance to talk. Oooo I can’t wait to hear his British accent! Oh, and I don’t know if I told you this already, but I received a package in the mail from the RHCP fan club. I got a backstage pass along with many other cool things. They come to IL one more time before their tour ends, so I could possibly get to meet my idols, but of course my parents won’t let me go to another concert. I’m pretty pissed off about that. Anyway, sorry I talk about Sam so much. It’s crazy to be head over heels for someone I’ve never met. It’s something most people wouldn’t understand, so that’s the reason I don’t tell people about him. Sam says that he is going to show up on my doorstep someday, so I guess everyone will find out soon enough…okay, I have tired myself out and it’s after 11:00 p.m., so I’m gonna go to bed now.

07/31/00: Today was the first day of band camp. Last week we had our color guard mini-camp where we learned our routine. Today was sooo tiring. Man, we only got about four water breaks the whole 10 freakin’ hours we were there. Not fun! We learned all of our sets and everything was all messed up on my sheet, so I was really confused. Band camp bites! Anyway, I really miss talking to Sam. I can’t wait for this week to be over. Well I gotta go fill up my water bottle and pack all my crap for band camp, so I’ll write later.

P.S. – I have to wake up at 6:30 in the morning!

Commentary: Well Sam never called and definitely didn’t show up on my doorstep. It’s interesting to think about how things might have been different if social media, FaceTime, Skype, texting, etc. existed back then. Instead of waiting for him to get online or email me, we would have been able to communicate a lot more easily and probably more often. Who knows, though. If it wasn’t for Yahoo Chat (which doesn’t exist anymore) we would have never started talking in the first place! I still have the package I got in the mail from the RHCP fan club. I don’t remember how much money I had to pay to be a part of it, but it definitely wasn’t worth it. The backstage pass turned out to be one that I couldn’t even use, it was more like a souvenir from a past concert. I got a few cool photos of the Chili Peppers that had been taken on an actual camera, but other than that it was all junk like the booklet pictured above. 

