californication

03/19/00: Right now I’m listening to the new Red Hot Chili Peppers CD I bought yesterday. It’s awesome! Anyway, today is Sunday and I’m really bored. My parents left to go somewhere, so maybe when they get home I can go shopping or to a movie or something. Tomorrow we don’t have school, so I will be using the whole day to do my homework. I have a ton! I have to write a whole speech and look up information for a project I should start on. Cara and I got in a big fight and aren’t taking to each other, so I’ll probably call her and try to work things out later.

03/20/00: My mom just told me that I can go to the RED HOT CHILI PEPPERS CONCERT! OH MY GOSH, I’M SO HAPPY AND EXCITED RIGHT NOW! My brother is really mad at me because I’ll have to go with him and his friends, but that’s the only way I’ll be able to go. No one understands how much I love them! I spent soooo many days crying because I thought for sure I would never be able to go. With my luck, everything will get screwed up at the last minute and my mom will tell me I can’t go. I don’t want to think about that now! Well, gotta go do homework – I can’t concentrate at all!

03/25/00: This week of school has been the hardest week of the year to get through! I have been totally exhausted because I never get enough sleep (about seven hours). Also, the teachers assigned sooo much homework since we just had a four and a half day break because of St. Patrick’s Day. On top of all that, they gave us projects, and one project will take my partner and I over a month to finish since there is so much to do. I have also been skipping meals and not eating healthy like I should. The good news is I’m going to the Red Hot Chili Peppers concert for sure now. Today is Saturday and the concert is on Tuesday. I am sooo excited, I can’t even tell you! Anyway, I’m waiting for my mom to get home from her hair appointment so I can go shopping or do something to get out of this house!!! Well she just got home, so I guess I’ll talk to you later!

Commentary: I remember spending hours upon hours listening to Red Hot Chili Pepper albums alone in my room.  I didn’t just buy the most popular albums, I bought pretty much every album they had starting with Freaky Styley, which came out in the 80’s. I also spent a ridiculous amount of time researching them on the internet. I even printed out pictures of Anthony, Flea, John, and Chad and hung them up on my closet doors along with the letters R, H, C, and P that I had carefully drawn, colored, and cut out. While most girls my age were into boy bands, I wanted to marry Anthony Kiedis. 

