Jenny Jones

12/29/99: Today Cara came over at about 4:30 and we played Nintendo, talked, and watched TV. Then she wanted me to spend the night at her house. I packed everything I would need, and my dad drove us to Cara’s house. It was about 9:00 p.m. First, she showed me everything she got for Christmas. Then we started talking about the Earth, how it was created, and being a Christian and had lots of questions, so we talked and asked each other questions about that stuff for two hours! Then we watched TV. Afterwards, we played The Game of Life while watching a Disney movie called Return of Jafar. Then we played another board game called Mall Madness while watching Austin Powers 2. It was really late, almost 5:00 in the morning, so we decided to go to bed. In the morning we got up and watched Jenny Jones. They were talking about Y2K and everything that could happen because of it. This one guest on the show spent $1,500 on supplies to get ready for Y2K! Then Cara’s mom drove me home. Now it’s almost 1:00 and I’m probably going to go play Nintendo.

Commentary: Oh wow, I totally forgot about Jenny Jones! I used to love watching her and Ricki Lake. The whole Y2K thing seems so silly now. I remember people thought the world was going to end, and some even built bomb shelters and spent tons of money on food and supplies. There was a fear that computers would stop functioning because they wouldn’t be able to process going from the 20th century into the 21st. I never really believed anything bad was going to happen, but I do remember checking the date on my computer on New Year’s Day. I was somewhat surprised to see that the year was correct and the world hadn’t exploded.

