gobble gobble

11/24/99: Today is the first day of Thanksgiving vacation, so there was no school. All day I lazed around and watched TV. It is 4:13 right now, so I’m going to do some homework and empty the dishwasher like my mom wanted me to do. Since it’s a long four-day weekend, my mom and I will probably go rent some movies. Also, this whole day I’ve thought about if I should be Erin’s friend or not. I’ve decided that I really hate her, and you, diary, are probably sooo annoyed about hearing all this bad stuff about her. I’m going to have a talk with her tonight.
11/25/99: Today is Thanksgiving! I had to wake up early to go to my grandma and grandpa Hitchell’s house. We met all our relatives there and had a huge meal. It was a lot of fun. Then we showed my sister’s apartment to some of my aunts. Afterwards, we went home. I watched a movie on TV and then went to sleep. Gobble gobble!

Commentary: Most of the diary entries that I’ve posted so far bring back good memories and make me laugh, but thinking about having Thanksgiving at my grandparents’ house makes me sad. We had such a great time back then, but now my family doesn’t even get together for Thanksgiving. My grandparents’ house was the main place we gathered for holidays, but ever since my grandpa passed away and the house was sold, I really don’t see my aunts, uncles, cousins, etc. anymore. I remember one Thanksgiving at my aunt’s house where we went around in a circle and said one thing that we were thankful for. When it got around to my grandpa he said, “I’m just thankful to still be here.” We didn’t know it then, but that ended up being his last Thanksgiving. Cherish the people you love because they won’t be around forever! 

