Pekin

09/18/99: Today I woke up and got ready for my first judged field show. At 1:00 I arrived at school, and we practiced for about two hours. Then we got all our flags packed and got on the bus. We arrived in Pekin about 40 minutes later and started practicing. At 5:30, it was our turn to take the field. We ended up tying for fourth place. There were five bands that we were up against. Afterwards, we went home. Erin and I had planned a sleepover, so I packed my bags and went over. The sleepover wasn’t fun at all! All we did was listen to the radio for a couple of minutes and then went to bed! It was only like 11:00! We didn’t even get to talk or anything, we just went straight to bed when I got there. Then we started fighting and drifted off to sleep. Right when I wake up, I’m leaving!
09/22/99: Sorry I haven’t written in a long time. I’m just so busy with school and fighting with Erin every day. Today, to tell you the truth, my day totally sucked! Everything went bad! Then when I got home, Erin and I got in another fight! Can you believe it, diary? We have not stopped fighting this whole school year basically. I really don’t want to be her friend anymore. She hurts me sooooo badly and doesn’t care at all! Anyway, all I’m going to do now is practice my color guard routine, do homework, eat dinner, take a shower, and then go to bed. Hopefully next time I write things will be positive! 🙂
09/24/99: Today I had a really good day at school! We did lots of fun things instead of sitting at our desks being bored while the teacher talked on and on. When I got home from school, I tried to be nice to Erin, but she was just really rude to me. Tomorrow I don’t even want to look at her or hear her voice. She lies and breaks every promise she makes! When I got home from school, Erin pretty much made me get in a bad mood. I went out to eat with my mom and dad at Wendy’s. Now I’m going to watch a movie and go to bed.

Commentary: Ugh, I’m sick of hearing about my neighbor and I fighting. We were really close friends, but for whatever reason got to the point where we just couldn’t get along anymore. I’m not sure if it was our age difference and we couldn’t relate to each other as well, or if it had something to do with me going through puberty and the fact that I wasn’t really able to get along with anyone. Whatever it was, I take the blame for it and wish we could have remained friends, but eventually we go our separate ways. 

