MTV

09/06/99: Today Erin and I spent the whole day together. We woke up, took a bike ride, and then went swimming for the rest of the day. We didn’t get a lot of sleep last night, so we lazed around a lot, too. Then Erin had to go home, so I ate dinner and fed my kitties. By the way, today is Memorial Day, so there is no school. Now I just have to finish doing all of my homework, and then I’ll go to sleep.
09/08/99: Today and yesterday were basically two really boring old days at school. Oh, and diary, I forgot to tell you, but last Friday I found out that this junior at my high school thinks I’m cute. His name is Mark. He’s in my study hall, and he’s on the football team. He’s also really popular, but he’s 17 years old! I have noticed that he keeps looking at me in study hall. Nothing much happened today, except I had a Spanish quiz and a biology test. I think I did well on both of them.
09/09/99: Today all the numbers in the date are nines, so today is the only day of my life that it will be 9/9/99! Anyway, today all the people who are in color guard had to wear black skirts, so I did too. I was really uncomfortable the whole day, though. I really don’t like dressing up! I had a really hard algebra test today, but I think I did okay on it. Other than that, I had a pretty boring day! When I got home, Erin came over and we did homework and then watched the 1999 MTV Video Music Awards. Now I’ll do homework and go to bed. Hasta Manana!
09/10/99: Today was a pretty normal day at school. When I got home, I had to get ready as fast as I possibly could, because there was a football game tonight. I got to school, and we practiced our color guard routine for about an hour. We got to sit in the bleachers to watch the first part of the game. Then it was time to perform. We didn’t really do that well though, because we didn’t have our routine down yet. I left right after half-time and went straight home. I fell asleep because I was totally exhausted! Adios!
09/11/99: Today I went over to Erin’s house and helped her move some furniture around in her room. Then we basically sat around and talked until 5:00 p.m. Oh yeah, and this morning I marched in the Pekin parade. I did my color guard routine and got home around 2:00. Anyway, at 5:00 Erin and I got our swimming suits on and went swimming. I came home and took a nice, hot shower. Then Erin invited me to come over to have pizza, so I did. I ended up leaving at 10:00 p.m. We were just talking, dancing, and listening to the radio. It was fun!

Commentary: I remember being blown away by dates like 9/9/99 at that age, and now I can hardly even keep track of what the date is. Time really does pass by much faster as you get older! I mentioned having to wear a black skirt for color guard and being really uncomfortable all day, and that aspect of my personality definitely hasn’t changed. I’m still not a fan of dressing up. Pretty much every office job that I’ve had since graduating from college has required me to dress up (which I hated), and now that I work at an elementary school, the dress code is more laid back and I’m a lot more comfortable. Apparently Memorial Day is in September 🙂

