Teen Magazine

09/04/99: Today I woke up and went to the grocery store with my dad. Then I went over to Erin’s to talk to her. We got in a fight today. Then I went swimming in my pool all alone. I went inside and started reading some magazines that my sister gave me. Now I have 51 Teen magazines! I spent hours up in my room trying to read through them. Afterwards, I listened to music for two whole hours. Now I’m listening to Unpretty by TLC, which happens to be my favorite song! Anyway, it’s 10:00 p.m. and I’m going to write Erin a note and tell her exactly how I feel. Then I’ll clean my room up a little bit and go to bed.
09/05/99: Today Erin received the note I wrote her. We made up and now are friends again. We swam in my pool basically the whole day. Afterwards we went inside, listened to the radio, and read some Teen magazines. At about 7:00 we went to the Dunlap High School (my school) to play tennis. It was mom, dad, Erin, and me. We had a really good time and then went home when it was dark. Erin and I read some more magazines and then went over to her house. I helped her pack because we are having a sleepover at my house. We made a pizza, had popcorn, and brought a whole tray of snacks with us to the basement. We watched Bed of Roses and Scream. Then we were really exhausted, so we went to sleep. We had a really great time!

Commentary: “Bed of Roses” is one of my all-time favorite movies. I always hoped to find a guy like Lewis, played by Christian Slater. I wish I still had my Teen and YM magazines from the 90’s. Those would definitely be fun to look through now. Britney Spears looks so sweet and innocent on that magazine cover. Clearly it was taken way before the days of shaving her head and ramming umbrellas into cars.

